World Breastfeeding Week 2012 Press Conference Survey reveals over 80% of mothers breastfeed while conditions for exclusive breastfeeding have yet to be improved

 

World Breastfeeding Week 2012 Press Conference Survey reveals over 80% of mothers breastfeed while conditions for exclusive breastfeeding have yet to be improved

28

Hong Kong, 28 July 2012 – The Department of Health, Hospital Authority and UNICEF Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association (BFHIHKA) joined hands to organise the annual press conference. At the press conference, results of the annual survey of BFHIHKA showed that over 80% of mothers initiated breastfeeding on discharged from hospitals. The rate has reached the highest ever in 20 years.

According to the survey results, breastfeeding rate on discharge from hospitals in year 2011 was 83.3%, 4.1% higher than the previous year. “Number of births in 2011 increased by 7.5% compared to 2010. Although ensuring the large number of non-local mothers receiving antenatal preparation for breastfeeding was a challenge, the breastfeeding rate continued to rise steadily. This reflects that mothers’ intention to breastfeed is high.” Besides, all 18 hospitals with maternity units stopped receiving free supplies of infant formula this year, thus avoiding conflicts of interests. This marked a major step towards achieving Baby Friendly Hospital status in Hong Kong.

However, conditions that facilitate exclusive breastfeeding in Hong Kong have yet to be improved. For instance, 8 out of 10 private hospitals with maternity units do not room-in mothers and babies day and night making exclusive breastfeeding difficult. Dr. Ip emphasised, “The Ten steps to successful breastfeeding, such as rooming-in, training of medical and nursing staff, promotion of mother support group, etc., complement each other to put mothers on a firm ground to sustain exclusive breastfeeding after discharge from hospitals.”

Furthermore, BFHIHKA conducted the World Breastfeeding Trend Initiative (WBTi) assessment in 2008, and a re-assessment early this year. The result was released at the press conference. Out of a total score of 150, Hong Kong scored 37, an increase from 27 in 2008. The re-assessment found improvements in the implementation of the International Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes, educational information for the public and monitoring infant and young child feeding. Even so the score is far lower than our neighbouring regions, such as China, the Philippines, Thailand, and Korea. Dr. Ip said, “Hong Kong scores 0 in the item of ‘Policy, Programme and Coordination’. This reflects a lack of long-term planning of breastfeeding policy in Hong Kong. We recommend the establishment of a multisectorial Central Breastfeeding Committee that performs a leadership role in formulating a breastfeeding policy in Hong Kong, monitor its implementation and evaluate its effectiveness.”

Dr Barbara Fung, Senior Medical Officer, Family Health Service said, “Department of Health has launched a series of health educational resources for health care professionals and the public, including a multi-media e-learning kit for medical practitioners, a flip-chart on breastfeeding and a breastfeeding information booklet to facilitate health professionals in individual counselling with expectant and lactating mothers. The Department of Health recognises that the implementation of the ‘International Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes’ is an important public health measure in protecting breastfeeding and ensuring proper use of breastmilk substitutes through appropriate marketing practices.

In June 2010, a multidisciplinary Taskforce was set up to develop and promote the Hong Kong Code of Marketing of Breastmilk Substitutes. We will consult the trade and collect the views of various parties when the drafting of the Hong Kong Code is completed.”

Ms Sylvia Fung, Chief Manager (Nursing)/Chief Nurse Executive, Hospital Authority and Co-Chairman, Hospital Authority Steering Committee on Breastfeeding said that promoting, supporting and protecting breastfeeding is one of the major objectives of the Hospital Authority. The Authority has stopped accepting free infant milk formulae from suppliers and continues to monitor the vendors’ compliance to contractual requirement. The Authority also enhances mother-friendly practices, and training for nursing staff, care-related and clerical support workers in all birthing hospitals. Nonetheless, through the successful telephone follow-up of 2,547 breastfeeding mothers upon hospital discharge, 1,860 were still breastfeeding at 1 month postpartum, and only 616 of them were breastfeeding exclusively. This reveals that breastfeeding support is needed not only within the hospitals, but also in the community in order to improve the sustainability of breastfeeding.

Ms Dorothy Ip, a mother of two, shared her experience on breastfeeding in Hong Kong. She observes that the general public has a more positive attitude toward breastfeeding than 4 years ago when she delivered her first child. However, breastfeeding education to the public is far from enough. She hopes that better education would ease public’s misconceptions and encourage employers to make flexible work arrangements. This would help cultivate a mother baby friendly environment in Hong Kong.

– End –

「國際母乳哺育周 2012」周年問卷調查發現 逾八成母親曾餵哺母乳 純母乳餵哺的條件有待改善

 

「國際母乳哺育周 2012」周年問卷調查發現 逾八成母親曾餵哺母乳 純母乳餵哺的條件有待改善

新聞稿 12:00
28

香港,2012年7月28日──為慶祝「2012年國際母乳哺育周」,衞生署、醫院管理局及聯合國兒童基金會愛嬰醫院香港協會(下稱愛嬰醫院香港協會)合辦記者招待會。記者會中,愛嬰醫院香港協會公布了周年母乳餵哺問卷調查結果,顯示逾八成母親曾餵哺母乳,刷20年來新高。

根據問卷調查結果,在2011年出生的嬰兒,於產科出院時之母乳餵哺比率是83.3%,較2010年增加4.1%。愛嬰醫院香港協會主席葉麗嫦醫生表示:「2011年的出生嬰兒較上一年增加7.5%,雖然醫院要確保大量非本地母親於產前在港接受餵哺母乳準備工作甚有困難,但母乳餵哺比率仍穩步上升,顯示本港母乳餵哺意欲甚高。」再者,全港合共18間設有產科的醫院終於在今年全面停止接受免費母乳代用品,為實現愛嬰醫院跨出了關鍵的一步。

然而,調查發現本港醫院進行純母乳餵哺的條件仍然有待改善。例如在實施《成功母乳育嬰十項指引》之一的母嬰同房方面,10所私立醫院中,有達8所沒有實施讓母嬰24小時同房的措施,令母親難以進行純母乳餵養。葉醫生強調:「《十項指引》如母嬰同房、醫護人員培訓、促進母乳哺乳小組等等措施要互相補足,才能讓母親在家中也能確實並持續進行純母乳餵養。」

另外,愛嬰醫院香港協會繼2008年進行「世界母乳育嬰趨勢調查」,於本年初進行了跟進調查,並在會中公布調查結果。在150總分當中,是次調查的得分由2008年的27分升至37。調查反映香港在實施母乳代用品銷售守則、公眾教育資訊,及以監測嬰幼兒餵養情況方面都比2008年進步。然而,香港的得分依然遠低於鄰近國家,如中國、菲律賓、泰國、韓國等。葉醫生指出:「在全港性『政策、計劃及統籌』一項得分為零,代表香港的母乳哺育政策仍欠缺長遠的規劃。我們建議香港增設誇部門的中央母乳餵哺委員會,釐定本港的母乳哺育政策,監察政策的執行,及評估其成效。」

衞生署家庭健康服務高級醫生馮惠君醫生表示:「衞生署推出了一系列健康教育資源給醫護人員和公眾使用,包括用作培訓醫護人員的多媒體母乳餵哺自學光碟以及供醫護人員為孕婦和哺乳媽媽作個別輔導時使用的母乳餵哺掛圖冊和一本母乳餵哺資料小冊子,令本地的母親及嬰兒得到專業的支援。另外,我們明白《國際母乳代 用品銷售守則》能否落實推行,正是維護母乳餵哺,及保障嬰幼兒正確使用母乳代用品的關鍵所在。衛生署於2010年6月底已成立一個跨界別的專責小組,策劃草議和實行一套適用於香港的母乳代用品銷售守則。守則草議完成之後,政府會諮詢業界和公眾。」
醫院管理局總護理行政經理及母乳餵哺策劃委員會聯合主席馮玉娟女士表示,支持和保護母乳哺育是醫院管理局的重點目標之一。為此,醫院管理局已停止接受免費 嬰兒配方奶粉供應,及持續監察供應商遵守供應合同的要求。另外,更提昇所有轄下之產科醫院裡提供的「母親友好」護理,並加強對護理人員、病人服務助理和文 書職系支援人員的相關培訓。儘管如此,醫院管理局成功聯絡了2,547位出院時以母乳哺育的母親,當中1,860名在出院後一個月仍然餵哺母乳,並只有616位母親以純母乳哺育。這提示了我們支援母乳哺育的工作需延至社區,才可以提高母乳哺育的可持續性。

在記者會中,育有兩兒的葉潤珮女士分享了她的自身經驗。葉女士表示:「雖然現時大眾對母乳餵哺的看法,較4年前她餵養第一胎時正面,教育公眾依然不足。」她希望有關方面可加強教育公眾,釋除大眾對母乳餵哺的誤解,並鼓勵僱主在工作安排上作出配合,為媽媽締造更友善的哺乳環境。