War causes irretrievable harm to children!

“One day, my friends and I were forced by our commanders to kill a family…I decided to flee and I ran to the forest…but some soldiers found me and brought me back to the military camp. They imprisoned me and beat me every day… Today I am still afraid. I don’t know how to read, I don’t know where my family is. I have no future…My life is…lost…At night I can no longer sleep, I keep thinking of those horrible things I have seen and done as a soldier.” (“Kalami”, a 15-year-old boy from the Democratic Republic of Congo, who is forced to join the army from the age of 9.)

In the armed conflict, children are not only unintended victims but deliberated targets of violence. The number of children who have been directly affected is countless, millions of them have been killed, disabled, orphaned, sexually exploited, abused, abducted and recruited as child soldiers. They were uprooted from their homes, separated from their families, and facing with heightened risk of disease and malnutrition.

In the past 10 years, armed conflict has:

  • caused death of over 2 million children
  • caused 6 million children lost their limbs
  • IDPs of 12 million
  • turned 1 million children into orphans / separated them from their parents
  • forced millions of children into military, and the horrible experiences of the killing fields keep traumatizing them even in the war aftermath period

In 2003, 82 countries were affected by landmines, these landmines are still threatening the lives of people though war was over, they might be buried in farms, paths…or on the road to school. The lifespan of a landmine could be over 50 years which threatens the life of not only this generation, but the next and the next.

UNICEF has put great efforts in helping children affected by war and protected them from the threat of landmines. Also, promoting education is one of our key concerns to help the war debilitated children recovering from the trauma.

戰爭對兒童造成永遠無法彌補的傷害!

「有一天指揮官要我們去殺害一個家庭……我決定逃去森林,但我被發現了,還被帶返軍營。他們禁錮了我,每天都虐打我……今天,我仍然非常害怕!我不懂讀書、寫字,亦不知道家人在那兒。我沒有將來,亦迷失了自己。」(15歲的Kalami – 他於9歲時被徵召入伍成為童兵)

生活在戰場上的兒童,很多時候都會被徵召入伍。一些被受戰事困擾的國家更強迫16歲以下兒童加入戰隊,令兒童無辜受害,有些甚至變成終身殘障。

聯合國兒童基金會深信無論在任何原因下,兒童的傷亡都是不能接受的。因此,聯合國兒童基金會定立了一連串反戰議程,以保護和照顧無辜的兒童,使他們免受傷害,並替他們舖上一條通向和平的道路。

在過去10年,武力衝突已經:

  • 令超過200萬名兒童死亡
  • 600萬名兒童殘廢
  • 1,200萬名兒童無家可歸
  • 100萬名兒童成為孤兒,或與父母失散
  • 數以百萬計兒童甚至被迫加入軍隊,親身經歷恐怖殺戮的戰況。或許戰爭已經結束,但在心裏的傷口,已成為他們的噩夢,令他們情緒低落、焦慮及變得好勇鬥狠等,而且往往需要一段頗長時間才能夠康復。

戰爭,除了摧毀了無數生命,更奪去了兒童寶貴的童年,令他們留下永不磨滅的陰影!

根據2003年數據顯示,全球共有82個國家受到地雷影響。即使戰爭結束,無數未被引爆的地雷仍遍佈在國內不同的角落,包括農田和小徑上,甚至學生上學路上。而且,一個小小地雷的壽命可長達50年以上。換言之,今天如果有人將一個地雷埋藏在地下,它不但威脅到現代人的安全,其禍害更會延續到下一代。

聯合國兒童基金會正積極幫助被戰爭禍害的兒童,及協助受地雷威脅的國家清除地雷。同時,亦支持和平教育工作,以預防及減低戰爭對兒童帶來的傷害。聯合國兒童基金會亦聯同與其他志願團體,促使各國停止生產、售賣和使用地雷,以保障兒童的安全。